UnMeta Comments (split: Provocative Title (MetaThread))

Off topic discourse and banter encouraged.
Ann
4725 Å

UnMeta Comments (split: Provocative Title (MetaThread))

Post by Ann » Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:42 am

http://asterisk.apod.com/vie ... 23&t=21646

Wow. I've been scratching my head as I've been reading this thread. What the heck is it all about?

As a teacher, I get a vague sense of uneasiness reading it. If this kind of talk happened in a class, I would immediately suspect that a group of students were bullying another student. By talking what appeared to be nonsense in a very pointed way, by immediately picking up the slack if the spouting of nonsense seemed to stop, by demonstrating so clearly that they are "in the know" and some other persons aren't, they would seem to demonstrate not only that they are superior to others, but also that anyone who doesn't understand what all this is about should start worrying, now, that they are the ones being talked about.

Well. Once I was told off by Owlice for spending many paragraphs discussing the typical qualities of K0III stars and why I find such stars boring. My post was born out of my enthusiasm for stars and my consequent need to share my knowledge about stars and my different preferences for different kind of stars.

Okay. I was, perhaps, bullying a star, but I sure wasn't bullying a person. I didn't, of course, intend to bully the poor K0 star, if said K0 star was indeed capable of feeling bullied.

I don't think this thread has been meant as a bullying thread either. But I am not sure. In any case, I think my post about the K0 star was more interesting than this thread has been, even though it has run to two pages. But maybe that's just me.

I want to thank bystander and hstarbuck for echoing my confusion about the purpose of this thread.

Ann
Color Commentator

rstevenson
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Re: Provocative Title (MetaThread)

Post by rstevenson » Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:14 pm