APOD Birthday Collage Submissions

See new, spectacular, or mysterious sky images.
owlice
Guardian of the Codes

APOD Birthday Collage Submissions

Post by owlice » Tue Jun 01, 2010 3:48 pm

Please post your birthday collage submissions here. If you prefer to have your collage posted anonymously, please let me know by PM so that we can arrange it.

Thank you!
A closed mouth gathers no foot.

rstevenson
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Re: APOD Birthday Collage Submissions

Post by rstevenson » Wed Jun 02, 2010 1:00 am

This is my first attempt at a mosaic. I used MacOSaiX on my iMac. The image uses just over 1700 images from a folder on my system, about 400 of which are cosmic images, many of them former APODs. The subject is obvious, I suppose -- at least to Doctor Who fans.

I'd rather do a mosaic using just APOD images, but the 400 I have is not enough. Most mosaics require thousands of images to get good tonal range and detail. Any idea how I could get on-line access to a pool of such images? I can point the software to the URL of a folder of images -- I don't need to have them locally.

I'm trying another now using Google image search which, if it works, will be more on topic and on target. When I do a search for "APOD, galaxy, nebula, NGC, photo" at Google, I get about 6000 images returned, so the same search using MacOSaiX should yield the same set of images. We'll see. It takes a while to create a mosaic this way.

Rob
Tardis_mosaic_2.jpg
Tardis_mosaic_2.jpg (141.09 KiB) Viewed 4131 times

rstevenson

Post by rstevenson » Mon Jun 07, 2010 6:06 pm