Sprites

See new, spectacular, or mysterious sky images.
Chris Peterson
Abominable Snowman

Sprites

Post by Chris Peterson » Mon Sep 05, 2011 4:52 am

I caught three sets of sprites above a distant thunderstorm on September 2. I've been operating video allsky cameras for over ten years, and haven't caught any sprites before- probably because the meteor detection algorithm catches lightning and misses the much higher sprites. The fact that I got these makes me think there were hundreds more that got missed that night.

Chris

Chris L Peterson
Cloudbait Observatory
https://www.cloudbait.com

neufer
Vacationer at Tralfamadore

Re: Sprites

Post by neufer » Mon Sep 05, 2011 4:59 am

Chris Peterson wrote:
I caught three sets of sprites above a distant thunderstorm on September 2. I've been operating video allsky cameras for over ten years, and haven't caught any sprites before- probably because the meteor detection algorithm catches lightning and misses the much higher sprites. The fact that I got these makes me think there were hundreds more that got missed that night.
So, how did you catch these? (I.e., what were you doing different?)
Art Neuendorffer

Chris Peterson
Abominable Snowman

Post by Chris Peterson » Mon Sep 05, 2011 5:33 am

neufer wrote:So, how did you catch these? (I.e., what were you doing different?)