Looking for 1987 sky photograph

See new, spectacular, or mysterious sky images.
rafaelsoldi
Asternaut

Looking for 1987 sky photograph

Post by rafaelsoldi » Mon Apr 10, 2017 10:33 pm

Hello,

I am a fine artist and professor in the School of Art at the University of Washington. I am a complete novice in this field so I appreciate your direction on how to find what I'm looking for. I'm working on a project with a museum and I am searching for the following:

A photograph of the sky/stars on October 5, 1987, southern hemisphere. Ideally this is a darkroom print or a negative that I can acquire or reproduce. If it's a digital file, then I can make my own negative/print from it.

I've been told that I'm more likely to find this through an observatory, rather than NASA. I am flexible on the hemisphere and format of the image, though my goal is to find exactly what I described. As I understand it, the hemisphere I'm looking for might help me narrow down which observatories to reach out to.

Can anyone point me in the right direction, please? Does anyone have access to an archive or know anyone who does? Does anyone know if such images were made, like a daily photo of the sky in the 1980's? Does anyone know in which format these were made?

I greatly appreciate your guidance!

geckzilla
Ocular Digitator

Re: Looking for 1987 sky photograph

Post by geckzilla » Tue Apr 11, 2017 3:14 am

You might try NGC3314 (real name William Keel)