Bright Lights by "Big Dipper" on March 18th

The cosmos at our fingertips.
DAMaximus
Asternaut

Bright Lights by "Big Dipper" on March 18th

Post by DAMaximus » Sat Mar 20, 2010 4:58 pm

Hello. This is my first post so please forgive my ignorance as I am an amateur sky watcher and have just gotten back into the "sport" I guess. So, I'd like to ask if anyone else saw what I saw the morning of March 18th, between 6:30-6:50am est. I was out checking the weather before taking my son to school and the Big Dipper was directly above me. As I was watching, there were two stars that increased in brightness just to the "right" of the handle. They brightened for several mins - when I say bright I mean they grew brighter than Sirius, both of them - then diminished. I checked to the left and right to see if they were merely being consumed by clouds, but neither the handle or the stars to the right were going out.
I could think of only two options, but wanted to ask. Either I witnessed a Binary Supernova or two objects - very bright - came down towards Earth and then rose up skyward. If it was the latter, and they were moving objects, they didn't move east or west. Merely rose and fell on their vertical axis......
I've googled the date, and can't seem to find anything about this. If anyone can point me in the right direction I'd appreciate it. I've seen things in the sky that I couldn't explain before, but I'm assuming that they were satelites - who knows.
Anyway - thanks for having me on your board and hope to receive some hits. I did try to get a video of it on my phone but no dice......

Amir
Science Officer

Re: Bright Lights by "Big Dipper" on March 18th

Post by Amir » Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:20 am

Hi,
since you said they didn't have any movement, i'm thinking of Geo-Stationary satellites lit up by something.
if you let me know your latitude and longitude, i may be able to check.