Mass limit for pre-supernova stars

The cosmos at our fingertips.
BDanielMayfield
Don't bring me down
AKA: Bruce

Mass limit for pre-supernova stars

Post by BDanielMayfield » Fri Jan 02, 2015 6:44 pm

What is the lower mass limit for stars destined to become Supernovae of the various classes?

Bruce
Just as zero is not equal to infinity, everything coming from nothing is illogical.

starsurfer
Stellar Cartographer

Re: Mass limit for pre-supernova stars

Post by starsurfer » Sat Jan 03, 2015 7:47 am

Not my area of expertise but I think it is more than 8 stellar masses.

Ann
4725 Å

Post by Ann » Sat Jan 03, 2015 9:16 am

BDanielMayfield wrote:What is the lower mass limit for stars destined to become Supernovae of the various classes?

Bruce
Like starsurfer, I'm not an expert here. But I, too, have heard that eight solar masses might be the lower limit for a star that will eventually go supernova.

However, when it comes to core-collapse supernovas, it is the evolution of the core that determines whether the star will go supernova or not. Massive stars may have extremely strong winds that possibly - possibly - may blow away so much of the outer parts of the star that the core will not be able to evolve to the point where it will explode. To go supernova, a star needs to go through a series of fusions, starting by hydrogen fusion and ending by silicon fusion that produces an iron core. But each new higher-element fusion needs a higher temperature to get going than the fusion that preceded it. Only very massive stars can compress their cores through the force of gravity to extract and concentrate the extremely high temperatures needed to get silicon fusion going. But a star that blows away much of its outer envelope may not be able to compress its own core to reach those temperatures, even if it started out with a very high mass.