Question about Peiades

Comments and questions about the APOD on the main view screen.
Kristen
Asternaut

Question about Peiades

Post by Kristen » Tue Jan 10, 2006 11:37 pm

Hi. My name is Kristen. This is my first post here. I LOVE galaxies, and have had the Picture of The Day as a link on my toolbar for years. The recent Peides one is lovely. :lol: I've seen images of the Peiades before, but am wondering about the sort of ... how do I put it ... the movement in the glowing areas. As an artist, I'm just wondering about the sort of paths of movement that the image shows. Is that sort of pattern of movement really there? Very interesting!

Thanks again for sharing such lovely images! I'll do a painting of galaxies one of these days - using your images as inspiration.

Take care!
Kristen
Unique Artwork and Jewelry
http://www.GemsAndBeyond.com

harry
G'day G'day G'day G'day

Post by harry » Wed Jan 11, 2006 1:35 am

Do you mean the clouds,,,,,,,,,they are normal
Harry : Smile and live another day.

orin stepanek
Plutopian

Post by orin stepanek » Wed Jan 11, 2006 2:09 am

Welcome Kristen!

http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/ap060109.html

The wispy strands of blue filaments are indeed intriguing. I can't answer your question of their movements but I wonder if this is a star forming region; there doesn't seem to be enough dust there to form more stars?
Very beautiful sight though.

Orin

gordhaddow
Ensign

Post by gordhaddow » Wed Jan 11, 2006 3:01 am

Those blue strands, identified as 'reflection nebulae', are streamers of carbon dust; the dust grains reflect light toward the blue end of the spectrum, while increasingly absorbing frequencies further toward the red end. The carbon has to have been formed in now-dead stars; the 'streamers' may be the result of local stars' deaths (expulsion), light pressure from existing local stars, or gravitational balancing within the system (Lagrange profiles in a multi-body situation) - or some combination of all of the above