APOD capture application for Linux backgrounds?

Comments and questions about the APOD on the main view screen.
Darkstar
Asternaut

APOD capture application for Linux backgrounds?

Post by Darkstar » Sun Sep 30, 2007 5:44 am

Does anyone know if a script has been written to set the background for Linux desktops? In particular I am interested in KDE/SuSE.

I know there is a Windows application... If there is nothing available for Linux, would it be possible to get the source code for the Windows app? Or perhaps, the specs on how to get the APOD off the internet, perhaps at some standard URL? I am an experienced programmer so it could possible for me to write something up for Linux if I can gather enough technical detail to put something together...

Thanks for any assistance... Darkstar...

Case
Commander

Re: APOD capture application for Linux backgrounds?

Post by Case » Sun Sep 30, 2007 9:31 am

Download 'em with FlashGot extension
That's what Google's got to say about that...

DanEspen
Asternaut

Post by DanEspen » Sun Sep 30, 2007 2:30 pm

Darkstar wrote:Does anyone know if a script has been written to set the background for Linux desktops? In particular I am interested in KDE/SuSE.
This may not be exactly what you are used to.
I cycle my background every hour and a lot of the images I use are from APOD. This script does not come with a GUI or drag and drop or anything fancy, you build a file of command lines, each one paints the background in the way you want:

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/despen/rootshow.html

Tampert
Asternaut

Post by Tampert » Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:25 pm

I made a script that seems to workat least as often as the windows program. It uses curl to download the web site. Please feel free to use it and change it as you like. I recently added the feature that the explanation text is downloaded and put in an html file on your desktop. You can of course just comment this out.

Please feel free to change whatever you ant in the script.