Free Astronomy Course Taught Online by an APOD Editor

Comments and questions about the APOD on the main view screen.
RJN
Baffled Boffin

Free Astronomy Course Taught Online by an APOD Editor

Post by RJN » Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:13 pm

I am teaching an astronomy course available freely online through iTunes or learnoutloud.com . More specifically, the lectures are freely available from

http://www.learnoutloud.com/Catalog/Sci ... nomy/23871
under
http://www.learnoutloud.com/Catalog/Science/Astronomy
under
http://www.learnoutloud.com/ .

Currently, learnoutloud.com lists this course is the most popular astronomy download!

The course originates at Michigan Technological University where I am a Professor. Many MTU students are taking this exact class for credit, but anyone with a browser can take it for free. Not only are the lectures free, but this semester no textbook is needed for the course since I am exclusively using the web: mostly APOD and Wikipedia. The idea of teaching without a formal textbook is to make the course as inexpensive to students and un-registered web-viewers as possible. APOD is used because I am so familiar with it, and because the liberal use of APOD images makes the course really beautiful, in my (biased) opinion. The lectures occur live at Michigan Tech on Mondays and Wednesdays, and are released to iTunes and learnoutloud.com shortly after.

Every Wednesday, at the end of class, I can be seen reviewing the previous week's APODs. Polite criticisms and general feedback are welcome!

- RJN

neonsox
Asternaut

Good Stuff

Post by neonsox » Sat Sep 13, 2008 2:26 am

I just watched the introductory lecture and wanted to thank you for the opportunity to learn a little something about a lifelong interest. I've even put these on my iPhone and will be watching them when I get a free minute.