How old are images that we see on APOD some million years?

Introductions, Rules, Announcements, and Feedback
itwasnoteasy
Asternaut

How old are images that we see on APOD some million years?

Post by itwasnoteasy » Tue Aug 28, 2012 4:49 am

Hello All,

First of all please forgive my ignorance here. I am new to astronomy and I ponder about things in ever expanding space.

Whenever I see a picture on APOD, which describes something like this pic is spanned across 50,000 light years horizontally and 30,000 light years vertically and is some 4 million light years away from our planet earth it always puts a question mark in front of me.
Is this picture 4 million years old??
Because it will take 4 million years for light to travel from that place to earth or whichever spaceship is taking that picture.
This would mean as of today that could be a non-existent entity as well isn't it?

All Astronomers, please enlighten my ignorance.

Thanks this is my first post on this site.

Chris Peterson
Abominable Snowman

Re: How old are images that we see on APOD some million year

Post by Chris Peterson » Tue Aug 28, 2012 2:43 pm

itwasnoteasy wrote:Whenever I see a picture on APOD, which describes something like this pic is spanned across 50,000 light years horizontally and 30,000 light years vertically and is some 4 million light years away from our planet earth it always puts a question mark in front of me.
Is this picture 4 million years old??
Because it will take 4 million years for light to travel from that place to earth or whichever spaceship is taking that picture.
This would mean as of today that could be a non-existent entity as well isn't it?
The Universe is made of spacetime. What that means is that space and time are fundamentally tied together (in part because of the finite speed of light). A consequence of that is it makes the whole idea of "now" rather tricky.