Too many links in APOD descriptions!

Introductions, Rules, Announcements, and Feedback
mnash
Asternaut

Too many links in APOD descriptions!

Post by mnash » Tue Jan 31, 2017 6:12 pm

Hi, I'm new to APOD, I've been viewing for a just couple of months. I love it, it's a great way to start my day!

As a newbie, I'm a little sheepish about making suggestions, but this issue aggravates me intensely. It's about the surfeit of unhelpful and non-astronomy related hyperlinks in the APOD descriptions. Reading through the description is often painful, with each highlighted link demanding attention only to lead the unwary to often disappointing and entirely irrelevant locations. Today's APOD description had 16 links. I didn't follow them all, but clicked on a few just to see what would happen. I was discouraged enough to write this post.

Why, for example, is "USA" linked to the wikipedia page about the USA? How many readers web-savvy and intelligent enough to follow and appreciate APOD need help to find out more about a country, especially one that is presumably fairly well known? Or "history of the world" linking to a graph of population growth since the dawn of time? How does that help anyone grasp the potential number of people taking photographs? "..get in the way" leads to a Joni Mitchell youtube video (don't get me wrong, I love Joni), but why? And "well planned drive" links to nothing at all.

Links to potentially unfamiliar astronomical terms are surely appropriate and useful, but it's a little insulting to assume that a reader needs help finding out about the most mundane and commonly known facts, and links to completely inane material are worse than unhelpful, they are distracting and diminish the intellectual appeal of APOD.

Just my $0.02. Thanks for a great service, and sorry to be a whiner.
Matt Nash
Whidbey Island, WA, USA

rstevenson
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Re: Too many links in APOD descriptions!

Post by rstevenson » Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:01 am