Halo around the full moon

Ask questions, find resources, browse the virtual shelves.
ianseeley
Asternaut

Halo around the full moon

Post by ianseeley » Wed Mar 03, 2010 3:45 am

I am a complete amateur, but an avid skywatcher and APOD follower. Please excuse the following (perhaps) dumb question.

I have recently noticed a large halo around the moon, that had an apparent radius of the length of my hand at arm’s length.

Given that my hand measures 8 inches from wrist to finger tips, and my eye is 22 inches from my hand at arm’s length, how high are the clouds?

If I knew the angle of refraction, I could then estimate the cloud ceiling on a night such as tonight, where the halo is roughly one finger joint or one inch.

Probably a very simple task? (I’d probably do better using an actual ruler but the hand measurement is coarse but very convenient).
I would like to make a simple calculator that would give me this data easily on these clear winter nights.

Many thanks again to all of you who help us in our eternal quest for enlightenment,

Ian Seeley

Chris Peterson
Abominable Snowman

Re: Halo around the full moon

Post by Chris Peterson » Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:09 am

ianseeley wrote:I have recently noticed a large halo around the moon, that had an apparent radius of the length of my hand at arm’s length.

Given that my hand measures 8 inches from wrist to finger tips, and my eye is 22 inches from my hand at arm’s length, how high are the clouds?
tan(theta) = 8/22, so theta = 20°

What you are seeing is the most common type of ice halo, which has a radius of 22°. However, since it is the angle that is constant, not any absolute size, there is no way to determine the cloud height. All you really know is that since this type of halo is normally produced by cirrus clouds, they are high- typically 7 km or more.
Chris

Chris L Peterson
Cloudbait Observatory
https://www.cloudbait.com

wonderboy
Commander
AKA: Paul

Post by wonderboy » Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:14 pm