ISS

Ask questions, find resources, browse the virtual shelves.
peg
Asternaut

ISS

Post by peg » Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:38 pm

Hi, I'm just an elementary teacher so please excuse this question,but, last night at our monthly meeting a friend said the ISS was pass over so we all went outside to watch. It was cool, but then someone said that next month we would have to move the meeting to see it again. Why? The ISS doesn't follow the same orbit path? Will I be able to see it again tonight? Thanks- :D

Chris Peterson
Abominable Snowman

Re: ISS

Post by Chris Peterson » Thu Mar 04, 2010 4:04 pm

peg wrote:Hi, I'm just an elementary teacher so please excuse this question,but, last night at our monthly meeting a friend said the ISS was pass over so we all went outside to watch. It was cool, but then someone said that next month we would have to move the meeting to see it again. Why? The ISS doesn't follow the same orbit path? Will I be able to see it again tonight? Thanks- :D
The ISS is in an orbit with an inclination of 52°. Start by imagining it orbiting over the equator, and then tip that orbit 52°, and you'll see what that looks like. At its furthest north the ISS reaches latitude N 52°, then a quarter of the way around its orbit it will cross the equator going south, halfway around its orbit it will be at S 52°, and three quarters of the way around it will cross the equator again, this time going north. If you looked at this orbit on a flat map, it would look very like a sine wave- you've probably seen such orbits mapped out on the screens at NASA or JPL during televised launches.