light source at center of galaxies

Ask questions, find resources, browse the virtual shelves.
dmzer5
Asternaut

light source at center of galaxies

Post by dmzer5 » Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:58 am

I'm new to APOD and have questions:

1. What is the source of the bright light seen at the centers of all (?) galaxies?
2. Can we see the "bright light" at the center of our Milky Way galaxy?
3. What percentage of the "stars" we see with the naked eye, actually are these centers of galaxies?

If someone would be kind enough to answer these queries, I would sleep better at night!

Chris Peterson
Abominable Snowman

Re: light source at center of galaxies

Post by Chris Peterson » Fri Mar 26, 2010 1:22 am

dmzer5 wrote:1. What is the source of the bright light seen at the centers of all (?) galaxies?
Stars. Lots and lots of stars.
2. Can we see the "bright light" at the center of our Milky Way galaxy?
Not very well. There is a lot of dust between us and it. But we can see it in non-visible wavelengths, like radio and IR.
3. What percentage of the "stars" we see with the naked eye, actually are these centers of galaxies?
None. All the stars we can see are just that, stars. There are a few naked eye galaxies, but all appear very diffuse and un-starlike. The only reason that the centers of galaxies look so bright in images is because the contrast is stretched to make them that way. Their visual appearance, either naked eye or telescopically, is much dimmer and lower contrast.
Chris

Chris L Peterson
Cloudbait Observatory
https://www.cloudbait.com

rstevenson
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Post by rstevenson » Fri Mar 26, 2010 1:30 am

dmzer5 wrote:1. What is the source of the bright light seen at the centers of all (?) galaxies?