The biggest BLACK HOLE

Ask questions, find resources, browse the virtual shelves.
Yvon.B
Asternaut

The biggest BLACK HOLE

Post by Yvon.B » Thu Sep 16, 2010 11:21 pm

I am not a scientist but but I do love astronomy . I understood ( correct me if I am wrong ) that most if not all galaxies
have a black in their very center. Therefore my question is: Will we ever find where is the black hole that hold our
universe together ?
that suggest that there are many universes otherwise we would be already suck in . no ?

I just wonder !

Yvon

neufer
Vacationer at Tralfamadore

Re: The biggest BLACK HOLE

Post by neufer » Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:29 am

Yvon.B wrote:I am not a scientist but but I do love astronomy . I understood ( correct me if I am wrong ) that most if not all galaxies
have a black in their very center. Therefore my question is: Will we ever find where is the black hole that hold our
universe together ?
that suggest that there are many universes otherwise we would be already suck in . no ?

I just wonder !
Hi Yvon,

You seem to imply that galaxies
like the Milky Way [of mass ~600,000 million solar masses]
are somehow "held together" by their
central black holes [of mass ~4 million solar masses].
Nothing could be further from the truth.

You also imply that the universe, itself, is somehow "held together"
when in fact the universe is flying apart.

Any lurking super cluster size black holes out there
[of mass ~1,000,000,000 million solar masses]
should be detectable
with current infrared & x-ray space telescopes.
Art Neuendorffer

50bmg
Ensign

Post by 50bmg » Thu Nov 04, 2010 3:29 pm

I was also under the false impression that black holes somehow held galaxies together. What holds the stars together? Their mutual gravitational attraction? Dark matter?

rstevenson
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Post by rstevenson » Thu Nov 04, 2010 3:44 pm