Number of Galaxies

Ask questions, find resources, browse the virtual shelves.
katmcc
Asternaut

Number of Galaxies

Post by katmcc » Sun Feb 27, 2011 7:20 pm

I am an artist who loves the astronomy pix of the day. Can someone tell me just how many galaxies have been discovered and named or numbered? I imagine galaxies in paint and other media and would love to number/name them but don't want to step on any scientists' toes.
thanksKat

neufer
Vacationer at Tralfamadore

Re: Number of Galaxies

Post by neufer » Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:21 pm

katmcc wrote:
I am an artist who loves the astronomy pix of the day. Can someone tell me just how many galaxies have been discovered and named or numbered? I imagine galaxies in paint and other media and would love to number/name them but don't want to step on any scientists' toes.
You will find a list of notable galaxies here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_galaxies
http://www.seds.org/messier/galaxy.html wrote:
<<The first known galaxies were longly known before their nature as "island universes" came to light - this fact was finally proven only in 1923 by Edwin Powell Hubble, when he found Cepheid variable stars in the Andromeda Galaxy M31. Ancient observers have known the Milky Way and - on the Southern Hemisphere - the Large Magellanic Cloud (LMC) and the Small Magellanic Cloud (SMC) since prehistoric times. There are speculations that also the Andromeda Galaxy M31 may have been observed and recorded as a nebulous patch by anonymous Babylonian observers around 1,300 B.C.. This object was certainly known to medevial Persian astronomers before 905 A.D., and cataloged and described by Persian astronomer Al Sufi in 964 A.D, who also describes the LMC. Both LMC and SMC have become known by the reports of Vespucci and Magellan in the early 16th century.