Special Relativity III: Hard Paradoxes

Interesting physics explained with many thought experiments and little math.
SsDd
Science Officer
AKA: Abhi

Special Relativity III: Hard Paradoxes

Post by SsDd » Wed Sep 08, 2010 4:41 pm

The lecture video is embedded below.

Additionally, slides used in the lecture are embedded below, or can also be downloaded directly from here.

Questions after the lecture? Please feel free to post them in the same thread.

Click to play embedded YouTube video.

***********************************************************************************************************
Lecture Links:-

Twirling Pole Paradox
Superluminal Scissors
Twin Paradox

Play Online Relativistic Games:-

Twin Paradox Applet
Nova Time Traveler

lhurd
Asternaut

Re: Special Relativity III: Hard Paradoxes

Post by lhurd » Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:09 pm

Been enjoying the lectures. I took way too much math and insufficient physics when I was an undergraduate and I have been enjoying the diversion.

The barn paradox did not have the punchline I was expecting. As I was first taught that one there was the twist that from the point of view of the guy running with the ladder, the barn has contracted and so it is even more absurd to think that the ladder which is now even longer relative to the barn would fit. The explanation I first heard was that we are, of course, in a state of sin by talking about simultaneity. What we mean by "fit" is that the doors are simultaneously shut and of course to one observer this is so and to the other it is patently not.

jacob90002003@yahoo.ca

Post by jacob90002003@yahoo.ca » Sun Feb 13, 2011 4:32 pm