Dark Matter Ring (APOD 16 May 2007)

Comments and questions about the APOD on the main view screen.
RJ Emery
Ensign

Dark Matter Ring (APOD 16 May 2007)

Post by RJ Emery » Wed May 16, 2007 2:25 pm

APOD for 5/16/07 (http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/ap070516.html) shows a simulated dark matter ring around Galaxy Cluster CL0024+17. The work is the product of Jee and Ford, et al, of Johns Hopkins University.

In a separate NY Times article at http://www.nytimes.com/2007/05/16/scien ... ubble.html, it was reported "Richard Massey, an astronomer at the California Institute of Technology, said the findings were facing skepticism within the astronomical community."

Why is the work by Gee and Ford considered controversial?
RJ Emery

cosmo_uk
Science Officer

Post by cosmo_uk » Wed May 16, 2007 2:39 pm

I'm no expert on lensing but I've heard some grumblings about this from people who are :wink:

nikki
Ensign

Post by nikki » Wed May 16, 2007 3:27 pm

What is wrong with gravitational lensing? I think its wonderful! :P

donax
Asternaut

Post by donax » Wed May 16, 2007 7:35 pm

I am just a passing reader and enjoy APOD very much. The article of 2007 May 16 has a very good point of view: We see the picture and start to wonder why there are several similarities between some of the bluish galaxies.

I think the answer to the question about controversy is one of certainty-level. Starting with the distance to the nearest stars much of what we know is deductions, which will be questionable for years or rather centuries to come. Some are more certain than others, of course;-)

But gravitation itself is an area of intense study and I see this posting as an outcome of this study. Look "around" in the sky. Find more gravitational lenses, find more gravitation signs and we will know more.

sacolton
Asternaut

Post by sacolton » Wed May 16, 2007 7:52 pm

So, is this kinda like a black hole? Aren't black holes and dark matter the same?

cosmo_uk
Science Officer