Elliptical Galaxy NGC 1132 - caption? (13 Feb 2008)

Comments and questions about the APOD on the main view screen.
Indigo_Sunrise
Science Officer

Elliptical Galaxy NGC 1132 - caption? (13 Feb 2008)

Post by Indigo_Sunrise » Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:54 am

http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/astropix.html

Now, reading the description, I am wondering what the "fascinating background galax[y]" is at about the nine o'clock position, on the far left....? What a beautiful galaxy! *Of course, the entire image is gorgeous, but that galaxy really leaps out at me!
Anyway, another great image - keep up the great work, PTB! :D

[P.S. I'm not too good with inserting links, so I hope that I did it right. Apologies in advance if not.]
Forget the box, just get outside.

orin stepanek
Plutopian

Re: Elliptical Galaxy NGC 1132

Post by orin stepanek » Wed Feb 13, 2008 1:50 pm

Indigo_Sunrise wrote:http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/astropix.html

Now, reading the description, I am wondering what the "fascinating background galax[y]" is at about the nine o'clock position, on the far left....? What a beautiful galaxy! *Of course, the entire image is gorgeous, but that galaxy really leaps out at me!
Anyway, another great image - keep up the great work, PTB! :D

[P.S. I'm not too good with inserting links, so I hope that I did it right. Apologies in advance if not.]
If you go to the APOD archive and Click on Feb 13' you can cut the http and you will have the right link.
http://apod.nasa.gov/apod/ap080213.html
Good luck! :)
It is indeed a beautiful picture. All of the stars in this galaxy are difficult to make out. almost like grains of sand. The galaxy you mention looks like it has vast star forming regions. Have you looked at it under magnification?

Orin
Orin

Smile today; tomorrow's another day!

henk21cm
Science Officer

Why so much X-ray activity?

Post by henk21cm » Wed Feb 13, 2008 1:53 pm