How many golf balls are on the Moon?

Ask questions, find resources, browse the virtual shelves.
RJN
Baffled Boffin

How many golf balls are on the Moon?

Post by RJN » Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:30 am

This is one of the harder astronomy questions I have been asked. I have heard two different answers, and I don't know if either one is correct.

bystander
Apathetic Retiree

Re: How many golf balls are on the Moon?

Post by bystander » Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:42 am

Chris Peterson
Abominable Snowman

Post by Chris Peterson » Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:53 am

bystander wrote:2
This is a science forum. As a scientist, I value skepticism. Based on the information you provided, I'd say the correct answer is: the evidence very strongly suggests that there are two golf balls on the Moon, although it remains possible that there is a different number. Shepard might have inadvertently dropped one that he never swung at. A meteoroid may have struck that area of the Moon and either destroyed one of those he hit, or even knocked it off the Moon entirely.

Now I very much doubt that these scenarios occurred, but a scientist should always accept the possibility of alternate explanations- and also understand how much merit to give each.
Chris

Chris L Peterson
Cloudbait Observatory
https://www.cloudbait.com

geckzilla
Ocular Digitator

Post by geckzilla » Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:14 pm

How long will the golf balls last up there? I imagine if they ever get found by future men they could be strange curiosities. Even if we nuke ourselves into oblivion and have to evolve all over again and have a space race to the moon all over again, if they find the golf balls it could be the one inexorable proof that one day in the distant past there were humans with the ability to travel to the moon... but still played the dumbest game ever invented. :D
Just call me "geck" because "zilla" is like a last name.

wonderboy
Commander
AKA: Paul

Post by wonderboy » Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:02 pm

Chris Peterson wrote: