Hideaway (APOD 20 Jun 2006)

Comments and questions about the APOD on the main view screen.
RichNH
Asternaut

Hideaway (APOD 20 Jun 2006)

Post by RichNH » Tue Jun 20, 2006 11:20 am

The APOD for June 20, 2006 was Hideaway. In the description it said that the picture was imagineary (I didn't know that) and could not have been taken anywhere on earth because the moon and sun were the same angular size. I always thought that it was a photo, taken through a telephoto lens, which (in my mind) explained why the moon was so large.

In any case, it's a beautiful picture. I just joined today but have been looking at and learning from APOD for years now. Its a great site and I appreciate all the efforts of everyone who contributes to it. Thanks.

Rich
Rich
LXD-75 10"SN

Rhalph
Asternaut

Post by Rhalph » Tue Jun 20, 2006 1:18 pm

Hi,

If I remember well, the picture was made using Terragen, a powerful landscape generator. I've been using this software for more than five years, so, when I saw the APOD, I wanted to see the discussion around the pic ;)

orin stepanek
Plutopian

Post by orin stepanek » Tue Jun 20, 2006 1:51 pm

Welcome to APOD Rich! Yes it is a beautiful Picture.
http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/ap060620.html
Orin

BMAONE23
Commentator Model 1.23

Post by BMAONE23 » Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:07 pm

Welcome too.

It might have existed some 4.3 billion years ago after the moon had just formed and was (17 times?) closer to us than it is now.

tonvangeldrop
Asternaut

Hideaway may be not a so far away (APOD 20 Jun 2006)

Post by tonvangeldrop » Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:34 pm

Of course it is not on the North Pole. It must be on the equator. The smal star is of course not the sun but could be Venus? All nice aligned with a sun just set.

almanac
Asternaut

Hideaway - more science flaws

Post by almanac » Tue Jun 20, 2006 4:52 pm

A beautiful rendition to be sure...