The Andromeda Galaxy

Comments and questions about the APOD on the main view screen.
Frank
Ensign

The Andromeda Galaxy

Post by Frank » Sun Oct 23, 2005 4:04 am

I understand that the Andromeda Galaxy is approaching our Milky Way Galaxy.
If the Universe is expanding why arn't all galaxies moving away from each other? :roll:

Fahad
Asternaut

Post by Fahad » Sun Oct 23, 2005 7:34 am

They are. However, a few of them are so close to each other that they will collide.

Empeda
Ensign

Re: The Andromeda Galaxy

Post by Empeda » Mon Oct 24, 2005 8:22 am

Frank wrote:I understand that the Andromeda Galaxy is approaching our Milky Way Galaxy.
If the Universe is expanding why arn't all galaxies moving away from each other? :roll:
It's because the two of us are close enogh together for our gravity to attract each other

The local group of galaxies as a collection though is moving away from all other groups.
I'm an Astrophysics Graduate from Keele University, England - doesn't mean I know anything but I might be able to help!

harry
G'day G'day G'day G'day

Expanding Universe

Post by harry » Mon Nov 21, 2005 1:13 pm

Expanding Universe is a false statement. The dating and distant calculation is under question.
If the Universe is "All" how can it expand within itself.
Parts of the Universe may expand from themsleves in the overal process of recycling and this does not mean the universe is expanding.
Our Local group of galaxies being about 35 has M87 as its centre. The group behaves like a unit and not expanding. This group forms a unit that belongs to a larger group which behaves like a unit a super cluster. There are something like 9 known super clusters and with deep field more are to be found.
The question is this: Are the superclusters moving away from each other.

The expanding universe idea came from the Big Bang Theory which has gone out with a big Bang.
Harry : Smile and live another day.

craterchains
Commander

Re: Expanding Universe