Is the color true?

Comments and questions about the APOD on the main view screen.
rengelman
Asternaut

Is the color true?

Post by rengelman » Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:17 pm

I'm new to this discussion and I imagine this question has been asked before, but I rarely see the issue discussed. If a caption does not specifically say "false colors," should I assume that the beautiful painter-like colors in Hubble and similar photos of nebulae are "true" -- that is, if human eyes could actually look through the Hubble telescope and somehow gather the appropriate light -- would these be the colors we would actually see? If not, how are they generated? They are so esthetically beautiful that I can't help wondering if it is the cosmos itself or merely an astronomer's or technician's choice of colors that provides the artistry.

Bob E.
Robert Engelman

S. Bilderback
Science Officer

Post by S. Bilderback » Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:51 pm

It would be the opposite; it will most likely be false color unless it says true color.
Many of the pictures are taken in wavelengths of energy not visible to the human eye, and/or many times a composite of everything from infrared to gamma rays. Many times the false-colors are exaggerated to show detail.
The more I learn, the more I know what I don't know.

astroton
Science Officer

Post by astroton » Sat Jan 21, 2006 3:33 am

This VLT (Very Large Telescope) images show some of the same objects in yet other colours.

http://www.eso.org/outreach/gallery/vlt ... opvlt.html

l3p3r
Science Officer

Post by l3p3r » Sun Jan 22, 2006 4:03 am

A common technique is to take photos of one object in many different wavelengths, assign a colour to each wavelength and then blend all the different images together to create the stunning images we see so often on APOD

An example

planetquinn
Ensign

color, true or false

Post by planetquinn » Sun Jan 22, 2006 2:39 pm